Harissa salmon, wilted spinach and sweet potato wedges

My husband is away with work this weekend, which means that I can cook all of the things that I love and he doesn’t! Top of this list is sweet potato; I’m not ashamed to admit that there have been entire weeks of my life that I’ve eaten roasted sweet potatoes and cauliflower cheese for dinner every night while el husbando has been away! 

This is a really quick and simple but delicious supper. What’s more, I have a calorie tracker on my phone and was amazed to find that this whole plate comes in at under 500 calories! I made double, keeping the leftovers for lunch; my colleagues in the office will be jealous!

Ingredients (serves 2)

2 salmon fillets (approx 120g each)

2 tsp rose harissa 

3 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 8 long wedges each

1 tbsp ground cumin

1 tbsp paprika

1 tsp ground coriander 

1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

90g baby spinach

1 tsp ground nutmeg

Method

1. Preheat oven to 200C.

2. Place sweet potato wedges in a large baking tray. Add the olive oil, cumin, paprika and coriander along with a good dash of salt and pepper and use your hands to mix everything well. Pop in the oven on the top shelf and roast for 20 minutes, shaking the tray every 5 minutes or so to make sure the wedges cook evenly on all sides.

3. Place the salmon fillets skin side down on a piece of tinfoil twice their size. Rub a teaspoon of harissa onto each fillet, then fold over the tinfoil to make it into a little parcel. Place on a baking tray and bake for 20 minutes, folding back the the last five minutes to let the salmon fillets crisp up.

4. Pop the spinach into a non-stick frying pan, put a lid over it, and cook over a gentle heat for 5 minutes, until the spinach has wilted. Add the nutmeg and salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a comment